Oakley Surfers Make Up Half of USA Surf Team Roster


Oakley’s Nat Young, Balaram Stack, Connor Coffin, Evan Geiselman, Ian Crane, Colin Moran and Lani Doherty will join the 2009 PacSun USA Surf Team travel roster that will compete at the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in Ecuador from March 28-April 5.

After a grueling week of adverse conditions, PacSun USA Surf Team Head Coach Joey Buran made tough but calculated decisions as he trimmed his 30-man roster down to the 16 who will make up the travel squad and represent the United States. Seven of the surfers ride for Oakley.

The week-long training camp, run in the rain, blustery wind and at times hail, saw standout performances in the three divisions in which the PacSun USA Surf Team will compete: Boys Under 16, Boys Under 18 and Girls Under 18.

The Under 18 Boys are led into battle by perhaps the hottest surfer on the national team, Oakley’s Nat Young. A rising star whose breakthrough 2008 has thus far carried over nicely into ‘09, Young’s style should be well suited to handle the left-hand point break at La FAE. Young is the United States’ best chance at a gold medal in the Under 18 division.

Headlining the travel roster are the Under 16 Boys. A deep and immensely talented group of budding superstars, Coach Buran made no attempt to hide his expectations for this group during the week. Time after time Buran referred to the Under 16s as the most talented group of 15-year-old surfers you’ll find on the planet. It goes without saying, Buran expects gold from these boys. “I would expect in Under 16 we’ll do damage,” Coach Buran said. Out of Kolohe Andino, Conner Coffin, Evan Geiselman, and Ian Crane, Buran thinks all of these kids have a legitimate shot at medaling.

The PacSun USA Surf Team travels to the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championships in Ecuador on March 28th though April 5th.

The 2009 PacSun USA Surf Team travel roster:

Nat Young (Oakley)
Evan Thompson
Fisher Heverly
Chase Wilson
Alternate: Balaram Stack (Oakley)

Kolohe Andino
Conner Coffin (Oakley)
Evan Geiselman (Oakley)
Ian Crane (Oakley)
Alternate: Jacob Halstead and Colin Moran (Oakley)

Courtney Conlogue
Lakey Peterson
Kaleigh Gilchrist
Lani Doherty (Oakley)
Alternate: Taylor Pitz


Tess Weaver


March 03, 2009