Brazil is On Fire: Surf Team Ripper Adriano de Souza Triumphs at Home Billabong Pro Rio, Grabs ASP World Title Lead

Adriano De Souza

Brazil is probably on fire right about now.

If the coming World Cup (soccer) – set to hit the vibrant nation – isn’t enough reason to party, surely Adriano de Souza’s huge victory at the Billabong Rio Pro today will get things rockin’ quick. Oakley’s Brazilian Surf Team Ripper smashed his way to a home turf victory – topping Taj Burrow in two-to-four foot waves at Barra da Tijuca. The triumph rockets him to the top of the ASP World Title points standings.

With Round 5 action going into full effect, Adriano’s 15.63 point total toppled Burrow’s 12.17 after a super close, intense final – complete with a raucous, partisan Brazilian home crowd behind de Souza.

“There are no words to express how I feel right now,” Adriano said, rocking his high-tech Oakley Blade Boardshorts and Eyepatch 2 eyewear. “Thanks to my manger for pushing me every day, I couldn’t have done this without him. Thanks so much to my fans, who have been on the beach supporting me from the beginning to the end and to my sponsors. I’m happy to keep the title in Brazil one more time.”

The scene was a picture perfect spot for the O shredder to claim the Title lead. And not surprisingly, he was more than pumped.

“It’s still very early days and next event will be J Bay so I’m going to be pushing myself,” continued Adriano, whose killer win came on the heels of standout performances at the last ASP stop. “Kelly (Slater) and all of these guys are such amazing surfers and have been on tour for such a long time, but I’m going to try my best.”

He took out Australian powerhouse Bede Durbidge in the Semifinals with 9 points over the Aussie’s 8.40 before smashing into the finals.

Congrats to Adriano for the huge win at home and the World Tour lead! Watch for him as he continues on to J Bay with fellow Oakley Surf Team riders.

Peep some of the videos, results and World Tour standings below:

Semifinal Heat: Oakley’s Adriano de Souza vs. Bebe Durbidge

Billabong Rio Pro Final:
1 – Adriano de Souza (BRA) 15.63
2 – Taj Burrow (AUS) 12.17

Top 10 on the ASP World Title Series After the Billabong Rio Pro:
1. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 20,500
2. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 19,200
3. Kelly Slater (USA) 16,950
4.Taj Burrow (AUS) 16,500
5. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 14,750
6. Owen Wright (AUS) 12,150
7. Michel Bourez (PYF) 12,000
8. Mick Fanning (AUS) 11,500
9.Bede Durbidge (AUS) 11,000
9.Tiago Pires (PRT) 11,000


Andrew De Lara


May 20, 2011

Related Photos