Bubba’s Back! Motocross Superstar James Stewart Triumphs In Return to AMA Pro Motocross Championship


It’s official. Bubba’s back.

Oakley’s Motocross Superstar James Stewart dominated the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross opener at Hangtown this past Saturday, dazzling fans in his much-anticipated return to the Outdoors.

Despite his three years away from racing the series full time, coupled with his super recent (and immensely dramatic) switch to Yoshimura Suzuki after parting ways with Joe Gibbs Racing, he immediately sent a resounding message to the industry with a display of raw speed and flashes of the “Bubba of old.”

“Went better than I thought,” the 2008 champion said, rocking his own Oakley Signature Series MX Goggles. “I thought I’d come and struggle a bit, which I did a little. This (season) is one of those things where you continue to build and we got a good start on it. I’m just here to enjoy it. I didn’t come to be the fastest. I came to learn the motorcycle. Everything is new. We’ve got a long way to go. I’ve been away for a while.”

No one was even close to seriously challenging – aside from fellow Oakley star Ryan Dungey, who threw down an impressive effort himself at his first series outing on a KTM bike.

An impressive first Moto saw RD starting outside of the Top 10, eventually clawing his way to the front to podium and remain in the game for the overall victory. A strong second Moto likely foreshadowed an intensely contested season between the two O speed demons as both look to battle to reclaim their past glory in the Outdoors.

But the first triumph would go to Bubba – in grand fashion at that – as the iconic star charges along full force with Factory Suzuki.

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing
FMF Hangtown Motocross Classic
Sacramento, CA

450 Overall
1. James Stewart (Suzuki) 1-1
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM) 3-2
3. Mike Alessi (Suzuki) 7-3
4. Andrew Short (Honda) 5-4
5. Brett Metcalfe (Suzuki) 4-5
6. Broc Tickle (Kawasaki) 6-7
7. Davi Millsaps (Yamaha) 2-14
8. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki) 10-6
9. Josh Grant (Kawasaki) 9-8
10. Nico Izzi (Yamaha) 11-10


Andrew De Lara


May 22, 2012

Related Photos